D-I-Y: Decorative Wall Letters

7 Oct

This is my first official post on crafting! Woo-hoo! I need to preface this blog post by stating once and for all that I am not artistic, period. I cannot draw or design anything to save my life. That being said, there is something very satisfying and quaint about making your own gifts, decorations, and other cool things. With my limited creating skills, you can rest assured that any D-I-Y project featured here is easy, cheap, and practically fool proof.

One thing that’s been keeping me pretty busy recently is initiation of new members in my sorority. In my chapter, it is tradition that the “big sister” make gifts for the “little sister” to receive upon being initiated and becoming a full member of our sisterhood. One gift that I made for my beautiful little darling is wall letters which spell out our sorority’s nickname. This idea could easily be adapted to make cute initials for a shelf or wall, book ends, or spell out words like “LOVE” or “DREAM.” So, without further adieu, let’s get crafting!

To start off I went to Michael’s to purchase my materials: 4 10″ wooden letters ($3.95 each,) 1 small bottle each of pink and black multi-purpose craft paint (89 cents each,) and one variety package of paint brushes including a circular sponge brush ($5.99.) My total cost was around $23, but I could’ve saved money by stocking up on some 40% off coupons by signing up for e-mails or waiting for a mailer to come around. (Since of course I procrastinated until the very last minute on this project I didn’t have the luxury to wait around.) Also, the two bottles of paint and set of brushes I will be able to use on future projects I’m planning.

I apologize in advance for the shoddy camera work below, these were taken on my trusty HTC Evo (4G!) but a new digital camera is on my holiday wish list without a doubt. After laying out my letters, I painted them solid in alternating colors. For my word I did the first and third letter pink and the second and fourth letter black. After the pieces dried, I went over them with a second coat of paint- the number one rule of painting is that everything will look more professional and crisp with a second coat! After the letters were dry, I used the circular sponge brush to paint dots in the contrasting color on each letter. I just eye-balled it to make the dots look random. Again, after the first layer of dots dried, I went over them with a second coat. And that’s it! This entire project only took me about 3 hours including drying time. I went for a matte look, but a fun variation might be to cover the letters with a shiny or glittery shalack or mod podge to finish it off!

Have you ever made any cool crafts? What are your favorite hand-made gifts?

Bisous,

Rachel

4 Responses to “D-I-Y: Decorative Wall Letters”

  1. Kiss Me I'm ADPirish December 25, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    Loved the post! Diamond love from Ohio :)

  2. discount kitchen faucets toronto April 4, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I
    find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something
    back and help others like you aided me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. D-I-Y: Embellished Picture Frames « Love a La Mode - November 1, 2010

    […] I mentioned here, I’ve been doing an abnormally large amount of crafting lately. I’d like to devote this […]

  2. DIY Holiday Gifts « - November 29, 2011

    […] Decorative Wall Letters are also simple and extremely personalized. You could pick greek letters, someone’s monogrammed initials, or even a word such as “love” or “dream.” […]

I love reading your comments! :)

