Lessons from the Disney Vault

28 Oct

School has really been kicking my butt lately. I’m not behind yet, but if I keep procrastinating the stack of homework in front of me I will certainly regret it tomorrow. Clearly what this situation calls for is a little blogging break to get my creative and productive energies flowing, right? I feel stressed, swamped, and generally overwhelmed at the amount of work before me. In times like these, I like to remember the little lessons I learned as a child, which happen to be mainly from old Disney movies. This was a time before Disney’s claim to fame was Miley Cyrus and the High School Musical franchise.

No, this was way back in the olden days when youngsters were experiencing a new film about the African Savannah for the first time- The Lion King. What does this have to do with motivation? I realize I’m digressing, allow me to get back on track. Hidden within this little treasure of a film is quite a gem of a song, you may have heard of it… It’s called Hakuna Matata. Not only is thing song catchy beyond all get-out, but one listen and you’ll find yourself humming it through the grocery aisles for the next week at least.

The point of this study break is that I need to take Timon and Puma’s advice to heart: “It means no worries for the rest of your days, it’s our problem free philosophy, hakuna matata.” Stop stressing, do the best I can do, and move on. I’ll be more relieved once I get all this work out of the way, but I also know that once I graduate no one’s going to care if I have a 4.0 or not. So for now, I’ll stop worrying and just start doing.

Are there any special things you do to get motivated?

Bisous,

Rachel

2 Responses to “Lessons from the Disney Vault”

  1. Julie-Inspired October 28, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    Perfect quote…and what I do? Hmmm…I make coffee and get into my “space” and just do it!

  2. leti October 29, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Omg literally one of my fave Disney movies of all time. To get motivated? Not sure…does procrastinating long enough until you feel ready count? ;)

I love reading your comments! :)

