Mommy Daughter Date

18 Dec

I’ve been home for winter break for almost a week now, and my dad’s 48 hour business trip on Tuesday provided my mom and I with the opportunity to have a fun girl’s night without making dad feel left out. It started out with errand runs to Michael’s, Hobby Lobby, and Joann’s to compile supplies for the upcoming gift/craft project I’ll be making for my best friends. Unfortunately for yall, they read this blog so I won’t be able to say anything more about it until we all get together for our annual dinner and gift exchange! After traipsing around town for the sake of crafting, we headed over to the 10th Annual Blue Genie Art Bazaar to check out some cool stuff.Β Here’s a little round up of some of my favorite items I saw around the bazaar:

When I saw these letter press notes I thought they were some of the most beautiful I’d ever seen. I’m aching for the postcard with the Austin bats from Presse du Four’s Etsy shop.

These Chia Hats remind me of Max from the book/movie Where The Wild Things Are. This would be the perfect gift for a child with a big imagination, perhaps a little niece or nephew who loves to play pretend?

These soy candles smell fantastic, come in a wide array of sizes and scents, and burn much cleaner and longer than traditional paraffin candles. Overall, they are healthier and more sustainable than traditional candles, plus, these ones come in beautiful textured glass votives which emit a neat sunburst pattern of light.

The Blue Genie Art Bazaar is a local holiday craft/gift fair where vendors sell the most amazing and original handmade items. One especially neat aspect of the BGAB is that admission is free, and it’s open from 10am to 10pm on weekdays and until Midnight on Friday and Saturday. It runs until December 24th and if you’re going to be around Austin I highly suggest checking it out! For more info, click here.

After walking around for over an hour, my mom and I went to my favorite restaurant, Magnolia Cafe. Bellies full, we came home and curled up on the couch for a good chick flick. We decided to watch Leap Year with Amy Adams which neither of us had seen… it was a bit cheesy, but overall the perfect sappy happy-ending romance we both love. I highly recommend it if you’re looking for a light romance that you won’t have to think about too hard.

I love my university and I’m so glad I chose to go to school out of state, but it’s always nice to come home and reconnect with the fam every so often. What special things do you like to do with your mom since you’ve moved away? Do the two of you have any traditions?

Bisous,

Rachel

P.S. As you are reading this, I’m most likely en route to Ft.Lauderdale to hop on a week long cruise through the Virgin Islands with my family. I won’t be able to respond to your comments for about a week, and I look forward to catching up on all of your blogs when I get back!

3 Responses to “Mommy Daughter Date”

  1. Kristin December 18, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    That hat is too fun!

  2. Julie-Inspired December 20, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    The time that I spend with just my mom is always so special, doesn’t happen enough:)

    Stop over for a giveaway today!!

    Julie xo

  3. Gloria December 20, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    i always go to crafts stories with my mom too! that chia hat is hilarious (and looks warm and toasty too!)

I love reading your comments! :)

