Website I love: Paperback Swap

26 Dec

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, the classic romance novel I selected for reading this week while cruising through the Virgin Islands.

By now we all know how much I love a) things that don’t cost a lot of money, and b) things that make my life easier. Well today I’d like to tell you about a website that does both: Paperback Swap. Karma is essentially the currency on this website, which allows you to request other people’s recently read books for free, under the assumption that you will send people paperbacks you are through with. When you sign up (for free, of course) and list 10 books you’re ready to get rid of, you’ll start out with your first two credits to request other books. When someone requests one of your books, you pay the shipping, and when you request a book that person will pay the shipping for you in return.

I personally think this is a great idea. I hate buying books new because they’re expensive and I feel wasteful. This website features everything from mystery and romance novels to New York Times bestsellers. Available books range from Harry Potter to Resumes for Dummies. With over four million titles available, I doubt you’ll leave the site empty handed. However, for other new reads on the cheap, always try your local library. Discount re-sale retailers like Half Price Books or Bookman’s are also a good option.

This would also be a great thing to do with all the books you just received for Christmas when you get through with them. What book is on your night stand right now? Happy reading!

Bisous,

Rachel

P.S. I’m still out of the country so I will be unable to respond to comments or emails until I return next Monday… but I can’t wait to catch up on everything including reading all of your wonderful blogs when I get back!

4 Responses to “Website I love: Paperback Swap”

  1. Grace December 27, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    What a great idea!!! I will definitely be signing up. Less $$ spent on new books = more to spend on clothes!

    ha.

    xox
    Grace

    http://www.stripesandsequins.com

  2. Kristin December 28, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    What a great concept!

  3. The Demoiselle January 6, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Brilliant!! I have soooo many books my shelves are bursting at the seams so this is perfect for me.

  4. Nadeen January 21, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Fab website, but wrapping is b**** (im terrible at crafts and gift wrapping)

I love reading your comments! :)

