Back in the USA

29 Dec

I have returned from family vacation rested and relaxed! This past week I was lucky enough to get to spend a week with my parents, aunt, grandpa, and three cousins cruising on the Celebrity Solstice to St. Thomas, St. Maarten, and San Juan. Although I had been all three places before, I still had a wonderful time enjoying the beach and sun with my family :) Here are some photos and a little recap from my vacation. All of these delightful images are courtesy of the family’s official portrait photographer Mom.

Me and my parents at formal dinner celebrating their 38th wedding anniversary.

Historic San Juan. My cousins and I spent an entire day walking about 6 miles around the old city. We ended up wandering through a quaint restaurant/bar district and had the most delicious food at an authentic Puerto Rican place. We finished the evening with a little tourist indulgence at Senor Frogs.

Me and My Cousins after formal dinner. I’m an only child (and the only girl in the whole family!) so they have always been like loving big brothers to me.

The beach in St. Maarten (Dutch side, not French). Photo taken via water taxi. This is by far my favorite place to cruise… the water is fantastic and the beach is never overly crowded. My family and I spent the whole day on the sand playing around like children; my cousins and I even put on a handstand contest! We also stopped in St. Thomas which is pretty similar, although the surf is much more rough. We went to Meagan’s Bay and read on beach chairs for the afternoon there. In years past we have been to Morning Star Beach several times which is also quite lovely if you’re looking for something less family populated and more private and quiet.

Me, lounging by the pool deck with the September issue of Vogue in my lap (long story as to how that got overlooked in the mail, but it was nice to have it on vacation and the pictures were still marvelous to look at). Before this photo was taken I believe I had just devoured 2 plates of seared ahi tuna from the 24 hour all you can eat buffet. Basically this picture = the most perfect paradise.

Of about 15 cruises I’ve been on in my lifetime, this was our family’s first time on Celebrity and I would highly recommend it in comparison to other lines on which we’ve vacationed. The food was fantastic, the ship was beautiful, and the nightly entertainment was top quality. Everyone enjoyed getting to spend time together and experience a very luxurious (and yummy!) week on the high seas. I hope you all had a wonderful holiday and are looking forward to the new year! Expect lots of changes and big things to come!

Bisous,

Rachel

4 Responses to “Back in the USA”

  1. Kristin December 29, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    Color me jealous! What an amazing vaycay that looks like!

  2. Hayidan's Intuition December 29, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    cool blog girl. i just followed you.. follow me on bloglovin ;)

  3. Mandi G January 5, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    you look great in red! so gorgeous!!

    -Mandi G

    http://chicmaterial.blogspot.com

  4. F N Z January 8, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    It’s very nice information and pictures.Thank you…

I love reading your comments! :)

