My Last Weekend in Austin

10 Jan

This past weekend was my last in Austin. As you read this, I’m headed to the airport to fly to LAX to see the boyfriend and his family for a day, and then he and I are driving back to school together. I spent my last few days at home seeing as many old friends as possible and doing as many Austin-y things as I could fit in. On Thursday night, my best friend Cassie and I went to First Thursday on South Congress, an area of town which features special vendors, food, and late night shopping on the first Thursday of every month.


One cool and unique aspect of South Congress is a little field full of trailer food vendors of every variety. I don’t know if your cities have hopped on to the trailer food craze, but Austin has been taken by storm! After walking through some of the craft vendors and some clothing boutiques, my best friend and I decided to stop at a stall to get feather extensions put in our hair!


I like them so much I’m even going to get a few more put in! After this spur of the moment fashion impulse decision, we headed down the street to Jo’s Coffee for some snacks.

I had a fantastic chocolate chip cookie and a nice warm hot cocoa (with whipped cream of course!) I also spotted this little flyer on the board there and had to snap a photo:

Notices like this are extremely typical of South Austin, I love the eclectic nature of the area and the wonderful, laid back nature of the people who live there. I managed to make it down to that neighborhood about 3 different times this break, including a few days later to have lunch with my friend Dan at the Torchy’s Taco Trailer.


I had the most fantastic chicken fajita taco with onions, peppers, and pico de gallo, as well as some wonderful chips and homemade guac- delicioso!!

Unfortunately not pictured: Hanging out on “the drag” (the area around the University of Texas), lunch and shopping with my grandmother, chilling with friends and watching UT basketball games, seeing True Grit with mom, dad, and grandpa, (it was fantastic, highly recommend especially if you’re not a fan of westerns!), lunch at Austin Java and massages from Milk + Honey with mom, and my best friend Kelly’s birthday dinner.

I can’t believe school starts on Wednesday… 9am classes for me every day this semester. Ugh… how did I get myself in to that? Yuck. Oh well, at least our first week back is a 3 day weekend for MLK Day. Are you doing anything special for the long weekend?

Bisous,
Rachel

8 Responses to “My Last Weekend in Austin”

  1. Alicia January 10, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    Those feather extensions are pretty awesome!!

  2. Christy @ Stylishly Inspired January 10, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    Hi Rachel! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and for your super sweet comment!!! <3 Your blog is awesome! I love it!! =) I added you to my fav's so I'll def be stopping back often. Looking forward to reading more!

  3. Julie-Inspired January 10, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Looks like so much fun…and what a great way to spend some quality time before you begin classes. Hope you have a great Monday:)

    Julie

  4. Kristin January 10, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    I just love Austin! I could visit it again and again!

  5. Carrie January 11, 2011 at 1:12 am #

    Getting back to routine is such a drag, isn’t it? Are you in LA yet?? Hey where do you go to school…down here? Lots of questions…like have you eaten at Cha Cha Chicken in Santa Monica??? SO GOOD!!

    xo,
    Carrie

    • Rachel January 12, 2011 at 2:59 am #

      Sorry I’m getting back to this so late, between flying last night and being on the road all day today I was in between technological communication. I go to the University of Arizona… although, long story, I initially planned to go to USC (had a dorm, roommate, tuition deposit, blah blah blah) but was then offered a full scholarship in Tucson and decided to go the free college route. But my boyfriend is from LA so I get to visit whenever I want :) As a result of the above sequence of events, I traveled to LA 3 times in 2009 and spent a summer living at UCLA as well. (See: acting major.) I have always wanted to live in LA and can’t wait to move there after school. And no, I’ll have to try Cha Cha Chicken next time I’m out there!

  6. Gloria January 12, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    oooh i love food trucks, they’re all the rage here in ny. i’ve never heard of feather extensions but the pop of color looks so lovely in your hair!

  7. Christine January 12, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Feather extensions are so hot =)

I love reading your comments! :)

