D-I-Y: Personalized Cork Bulletin and Dry-Erase Board

16 Jan

As I posted about the other day, one of my Goals for 2011 is to buy less stuff, and make more handmade gifts. Here’s a cute d-i-y project that I made for my 3 best girl friends for holiday gifts. I initially was going to make just cork boards, but when I saw these combo boards at Joann’s for just $6, I knew I had to come up with something to fit those instead! Read on for simple directions of how to make your very own personalized combo board!

Materials:

  • 1 cork board, or cork/dry erase combo board
  • Grosgrain ribbon, to fit the height of the board. (I used 1.5″ width ribbon.)
  • 1 package of chipboard letters, I selected black sparkly ones… This could possibly be done with large stickers
  • 1 roll of 2-dimensional double stick tape. I used ticky tack brand.

Optional Additions:

  • Synthetic flower petals to glue over magnets
  • Rhinestones for center of flowers for magnets
  • Dry-erase markers
  • Cute push pins

Here’s what I started out with:

Step 1. Open up the package and measure and cut your grosgrain ribbon to fit along the left side of the board. I left about half an inch of cork between the framing and the ribbon. Attach to board with a line of double stick tape all the way down.

Step 2. Lay out your alphabet letters and attach double stick tape to the back. Then lay them lightly on the ribbon until you’re satisfied with the positioning, and stick down.

Step 3. To make the magnets, simply attach 2 fabric flower petals together with double stick tape. Then use a glue dot to attach the rhinestone to the center. Lastly, use double stick tape to stick the assembled flower onto the magnet.

Step 4. For finishing touches, I added a few cute push pins to each board and a couple of dry-erase markers.

All done!

So far I would say my goal to be more crafty and make gifts instead of buying in 2011 is well under way. Do you have other ideas of what I should make next? What are some of your favorite handmade gifts?

Bisous,

Rachel

5 Responses to “D-I-Y: Personalized Cork Bulletin and Dry-Erase Board”

  1. Kristin January 16, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    I’m jealous of your crafty skills!

  2. Mary @ stylefyles January 17, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Nice! Those bulletin boards are very cute! One random suggestion, haha…..hang those magnet-markers in the opposite direction (upside-down). I know it seems weird and unnatural, but trust me on this! When they’re hanging marker-side up, all the ink runs to the bottom and they don’t write very well. Flip ’em over and the ink will reside in the tip, so the color will come out nice and dark. I have the same markers so I can tell you from experience!

    • Rachel January 18, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      Thanks for the tip Mary, that is such a great idea!
      Bisous,
      Rachel

  3. Jim Thornton February 10, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    What a fun distraction from work this was! Much better than the work I usually do. Thanks for the pick-me-up!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Holiday Gifts « - November 29, 2011

    […] you’re feeling especially crafty, one of my favorite things I’ve ever made is a Personalized Cork and Magnet Combo Bulletin Board. This took a little more work than the others, but it truly is a wonderful gift and extremely […]

I love reading your comments! :)

