Just a Little Check-In

19 Jan

Blip. Blip. Blip. Blip. Yes the airwaves are still alive out here! Forgive the empty static but with the 4 day weekend from school coupled with the beginning of classes, I’ve been pretty busy. Now that we are 3 weeks into the new year, I think it’s about time for the first check-in to see how I’m doing with the resolutions, and also let you know what’s going on in my life with the new semester in full swing!

Goal 1. I have not made it to the Rec Center yet. In fact, today I had some minor (albeit kind of painful) dental surgery, so that’s going to put me off of physical activity for the next few days. However, that event has put my #2 well on track…

Goal 2. I have been eating lots of desserts! A half gallon of Blue Bell homemade vanilla, the chocolate motherload cake from Claim Jumper, blended root beer floats from Sonic, cookie dough straight out of the plastic tub, birthday cake at the sorority house…. If it’s sugary and in front of me, I’m eating it. (Coincidentally these are all soft foods which + dental surgery = perfection.)

Goal 3. Over the long weekend I did experiment with some cooking! I made some sort of portobello rissoto. It was… passable. No one else wanted to try it but I ate a whole bowl full. My boyfriend and I also made dinner together, he contributed seared ahi tuna (my favorite, and his house has a very nice grill in the backyard) and I contributed roasted herbed red potatoes with onions and fresh fruit for dessert. I wasn’t happy with the potatoes but my boyfriend liked them or at least pretended to.

Goal 7. I have begun what I’m terming “The Great Closet Redo.” Eventually this project is going to get a whole post of its own but basically it started with me dumping everything from various piles into one big pile and folding, hanging, and organizing everything in the closet. Now that it’s all clean, I can start going through and getting rid of stuff.

Those are the goals that are most far along… as well as #14, flossing everyday. See? I listen to the dentist in hopes I never need to go back. Wishful thinking. Next up I plan to focus on #8, volunteering and #5, adding some greenery to the house. What else is going on en mi vida? Well, classes have started and I finally fixed up my schedule! I love  almost all 5 of my classes even though I had no choice on the 9am factor, especially my non-profit business management, contemporary film history (We watched Hitchcock’s NXNW today and I thought it was great!), and contemporary television industry  classes.

In other news… I went to see Country Strong over the weekend and loved it, even though the ending was kind of unexpected, but I won’t give anything away. I’m a big Gwenyth Paltrow fan. And there’s also a very talented supporting cast. Plus I harbor a not-so-secret love affair with country music and can’t wait to acquire the soundtrack. Also, my sorority is having a date dash (a fun party in a rented location with food, dj, etc where every girl gets to bring a date and dress in fun costumes) in a few weeks and the theme is Lost in Wonderland. I can’t decide between Cheschire Cat, White Rabbit, or Queen of Hearts…. or Mad Hatter perhaps? Whichever I decide I’ll definitely be making my costume, so that’s on the agenda for this upcoming weekend as well as an old fashioned sleepover with a bunch of girl friends.

So, that’s actually a lot about my life not a little… what say you?

Bisous,

Rachel

P.S. All images via weheartit.

4 Responses to “Just a Little Check-In”

  1. Christy @ Stylishly Inspired January 19, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    I totally hear you about the closet! I still have yet to go through mine. Ugh, it’s like the elephant in the room at this point, lol. I really want to see Country Song! I’m not a country music fan at all, but I heard it was really really good. Plus it helps that Garrett Hedlund is adorable!!! This Wonderland party sounds SO fun!!! I’ve always wanted to go to an Alice themed party like that. If it were me, I would totally go as the Mad Hatter =)

  2. Kristin January 19, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    And now I wanna go eat some extra dessert. HAHA!

  3. Carrie January 20, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Rachel I am so with you on the flossing (and coincidentally the sweet train). It sounds like you’ve had a LOT going on!! (oh sonic).

    Take care of your tooth – and make sure you entered the Minnetonka giveaway!! It was from yesterday’s post and it’s for boots or shoes of your choice based on what Langston’s carries. The lace-ups are SO CUTE!! Fringe and everything!

    xo,
    C

  4. Tolly January 22, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Hi Rachel! It is Tolly. :) Good for you on the New Year’s Resolutions. ESPECIALLY the closet cleanout – admirable. I told myself I was going to “purge” my own closet a few weeks ago, and, eh … it never happened. Oh well.

    BUT! My New Year’s “Word” (instead of a resolution” was “openness,” and I think I’m doing ok with it. I’m trying lots of new things, I’m preparing for life changes (buying a house for example), I’m ever-so-slightly more spontaneous. I think 2011 will be a good year. :)

I love reading your comments! :)

