Kicking It Into Gear

23 Jan

Way back a few months ago when Oprah ran her favorite things episode, she highlighted a few gym items that she loved. Here are some of my new gym favorites inspired by a few of her picks.

Oprah's List athletic

From left to right: Vera Bradley small duffel, $69, Lulu Lemon athletic pants, $98, Nike Free Run shoes, $85, Champion sneakers by Payless, $35, American Apparel yoga pants, $35, American Apparel gym bag, $32.

Since writing my new year’s goals check-in post the other day, I’ve been hard at work on another resolution- getting into shape! Now let me preface this by saying I’m not trying to lose any weight. I’m a size zero. Maybe a two. And that’s thin enough…. but that doesn’t mean I can neglect my physical health. In high school I was relatively athletic, because regardless of what some people think cheerleading is actually pretty demanding. But since moving on to college I’m so exhausted after class and other activities that it seems like such a nuisance to drag my butt to the gym.

Now, I’m not vehemently opposed to structures devoted to toned masses strutting their stuff in front of each other- but it intimidates me.  My University has a freakishly large group of girls who can look hot when working out. And I’m not a cute worker-outer. At all. My face gets red, I sweat. All kinds of no bueno. I just can’t compete.

Solution: Working out on my own, in my house. Did you know that jumping rope is just as efficient as running on a treadmill? Yep. Enter: my little trip to Target where I bought a very nice exercise jump rope. And it was on sale for under $5. WIN. My other essential workout aide of choice? A yoga mat for both yoga and a pretty intensive 30-minute ab workout I’ve been doing. I’ve actually managed to stick to the routine for a couple days in a row now and I feel great!

Another thing I’m currently obsessing over that’s gym-related: Target sports bras in crazy neon colors. $16.99/each.



Love.

How are you doing on your new year’s resolutions? Any special clothes or things that help you enjoy your workouts more?

Bisous,
Rachel

One Response to “Kicking It Into Gear”

  1. Kristin January 23, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Love the pretty in pink gym bags!

I love reading your comments! :)

