Two Fashion Conferences in One Week?!

3 Mar

I’m almost done with the awful thing which is midterms, and I’ve already come down with spring fever. The weather is warm, the bikinis are at the ready, and in just 9 days I’ll be on my way home to Austin for spring break! Not only am I excited to spend time with my parents and old friends and eat and shop at old favorites, but I’ll get to experience South by Southwest Music and Film Festival, The Texas Style Council Conference, and Style X. What are all those things? Well read on to find out!

Texas Style Conference - badge by PrettyShinySparkly.com

The Texas Style Council Conference is the first blogging conference put on by the Texas Style Council. Though not officially part of South by Southwest Music and Film Festival, they happen at the same time so there will be tons going on. Here’s the low down:

Friday March 11/7pm-10pm/Clothing Swap
Basically, bring all your cute clothes you want to trade and swap for something new to you to incorporate into your wardrobe! Unfortunately I’ll just be landing as this event is taking place… which is especially sad since I just cleaned out my closet and have tons to trade. Oh well, I’ll have to live vicariously through one of you.

Saturday March 12/Scavenger Hunt/Boutique Crawl/Dance Party
In the morning the first 75 people to arrive will get to form teams for a super fun photo scavenger hunt through the 2nd street shopping district. Prizes are provided by local boutiques. How unique and what a great way to explore and spot some fun fashion finds. Later that night, the organizers are throwing a crazy dance party with some fabulous sponsors and pop-up shops making an appearance. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m excited about the blogging aspect of this conference… but is it weird that I might be most excited about this dance party?

Sunday March 13/Brunch/Symposium/Fashion Show
After beginning the day with a little brunch, I will get to hear keynote speakers address the business of blogging and the future of weblogs and their role in fashion and style trends. For a complete list of speakers please visit the website. Later that night there will be a fashion show to end the weekend on. I absolutely can’t wait!

For the total rundown, schedule, panelists, attendees, and anything else you might possibly want to know, check out the TxSCC here.

And… as if that weren’t enough fashion for one week, I might also stop by StyleX the following weekend on March 18th and 19th. Style X is an outlet for emerging brands to showcase their latest fashions, and will hold 4 fashion shows at the Austin Convention Center that weekend. I’M SO FREAKIN’ EXCITED THERE IS SO MUCH GOING ON WHILE I’M HOME. Gosh. I’m so lucky to get to go to all of this fun stuff!

Well this post is already much longer than expected so stay tuned for my SXSW plans.

Bisous,
Rachel

3 Responses to “Two Fashion Conferences in One Week?!”

  1. Cathy Benavides March 3, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    I can’t wait to meet you at the Texas Style Council Conference!!

  2. Kim March 6, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Have fun there! Unfortunately I live a bit too far away to attend :)
    brunetteblogging.com

  3. Kristin March 7, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    How awesome! I’m so jealous!

I love reading your comments! :)

