Oscar Dresses= Nude + Sparkle

11 Mar

Okay so I realize my commentary on Oscar dresses is a bit delayed. But, in my defense, I’m just now starting to truly appreciate some of the trends I saw walk down the red carpet. I should preface this by saying: I LOVE THE OSCARS. As a double major in theatre performance and film and television business, you can probably understand why my passion for the Academy Awards might border on full-on obsession. I had my ballot printed, my bingo marker, my popcorn, and my movie candy in hand and at the ready. While there’s not enough time in the day for me to ramble on about my opinions on who won and lost, (actually you should probably be thankful that unlike my boyfriend and roommates you all have been spared that diatribe…) I feel like this would definitely be an appropriate venue to discuss another favorite element of this awards show: The dresses.

By far my favorite trend I noticed were the light metallics and delicate nudes. Here are some photos I will definitely be using for inspiration this spring and summer. I love how simple yet glamorous this combo is!

Halle Berry in Marchesa

Hailee Steinfeld in Marchesa

Gwenyth Paltrow in Calvin Klein

Mandy Moore in Monique Lhuillier

Okay and I realize this might be cheating because this one was from the Emmy’s, but in going along with the theme, here’s another:

Anne Hathaway in Armani Prive

I just absolutely adore this combination. I can’t wait to think of something from my own closet that can help me achieve this look. What do you think about this trend? What were your favorite Oscar dresses?

Bisous,

Rachel

P.S. All photos courtesy of People.com

I love reading your comments! :)

