Interviews, Summer Internships, and Lulus.com

1 Apr

The time has come… to tell you about my exciting summer plans! As you may know, I’m a double major in theatre performance and film and television business, with a minor in creative writing. I’m planning to combine all three of these passions by applying for several summer internships in creative development and programming in film and television. While the first round of interviews for these competitive jobs isn’t until late April and early May, I’ve been receiving some great feedback and am hoping for the best. I’m mostly excited but panicking a little because…. I own absolutely nothing to wear to a professional interview?!?!

That is, I was panicking, until I discovered Lulu*s, an online fashion marketplace with the most adorable dresses, accessories, shoes, and just about every other clothing item on the planet you could possibly want. My friends had been talking about the website forever, and they finally really appeared on my radar when they sponsored the Texas Style Council Conference I attended over spring break. After spending several hours an entire afternoon perusing their website, here are some outfits I’m heavily considering for entering the business world in style.

Business Classy Dresses from Lulu*s

Office Appropriate Skirts and Tops from Lulu*s

But no matter what I end up wearing to the interview, I’ll definitely be needing these fabulous items no matter where I work. I’m pretty sure there’s no way I can live without acquiring that gorgeous, modern take on a totebag- so office chic!

Working Girl Essentials from Lulu*s

What do you think of these outfits? Which one should I wear? For those of you who work in professional offices, what is typically considered appropriate or inappropriate? Have you ever been to an exciting interview and what did you wear? Do you interview for positions within your company and do you notice what the applicants are wearing? I’ve never had a professional interview before and I’m so freakin’ nervous… I need all the help I can get!

Bisous,
Rachel

Full disclosure: I am not being compensated in any way, shape, or form to promote Lulu*s. However, I am planning to enter this post in a competition for bloggers who have written about products in Lulu*s spring line. That being said, regardless of the possibility of winning, these opinions are still entirely my own and I would have written this post anyway. I wrote positive things because that’s how I genuinely feel about the company and about the products I chose to feature. If you have any questions, concerns, or comments about this decision I invite you to please e-mail me regarding them at rachel_lovealamode [at] gmail . Thanks for your input and understanding!

4 Responses to “Interviews, Summer Internships, and Lulus.com”

  1. Gloria April 1, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    i really like that grey dress in the first photo – maybe with a cute cardigan? don’t be nervous – you’ll do great! after you get past the first few, it’ll be smooth sailing :-) good luck!

    • Rachel April 1, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

      Thanks, I’m supposed to hear in about 3 weeks or so… waiting is the worst part!
      Bisous,
      Rachel

  2. carrie April 1, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    okay. um. the over door was on the floor? how did you not just collapse laughing over the sheer insanity. i would have done just that probably after pitching a mid to large sized fit! oy

    let me know if you need any interview tips this summer. i’m an executive recruiter and am happy to help!

    xo,
    carrie

  3. Kim April 3, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Wow, busy lady! Good luck with all your plans :)

    brunetteblogging.com

I love reading your comments! :)

