Tim Burton at the LACMA

20 Jul

Over the weekend, I went to see the Tim Burton retrospective at the LACMA. I’ve always been a huge fan of his films, and seeing the evolution of his artwork and creativity from high school until today was really neat and rewarding. Besides sketches, storyboards, costumes, and other works, there was an entire room full of black lights devoted to black light sculpture- super cool!! Below are a few of my favorite pieces from the exhibit. I also spent some time wandering through the Picaso’s, Koons’, and Warhol’s, among many others :)

I loved this early sketch so much I bought a lithograph of it from the gift shop for my bedroom!

There was a special room for black light sculptures and artwork, including speakers playing a score by Danny Elfman

One of the opening sculptures

One of the story models from the film "The Corpse Bride"

Aren’t they all fantastic? There are literally over 1000 pieces in the exhibit, so this is just the tip of the iceberg. Have you seen any cool exhibits lately? What are your favorite artists? Are you a Tim Burton fan? Someone please tell me I’m not the only art nerd around the style blogosphere!

Bisous,

Rachel

 

6 Responses to “Tim Burton at the LACMA”

  1. Pam July 20, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    Way cool. Wish I could go see it.

  2. Vanessa, Take only Memories July 20, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    I adore Burton’s art! I saw the exhibition at the MOMA a couple of years ago and loooved it!

  3. Lou July 20, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Wow this looks like a great place to spend a day. I bet you saw so many intresting pieces.

    http://thekeypieces.blogspot.com

  4. Kristin July 20, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    My hubs is a Tim Burton fanatic. He would love that!

  5. Katie August 10, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    I’m so jealous! My favorite movie when I was little was Nightmare Before Christmas, quite different than every other three year olds!

  6. crear tienda online July 19, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    Woah that site is usually superb i like mastering your site content. Continue to be on the excellent paintings! You now know, lots of individuals need all around due to this details, you may assist them to enormously.

I love reading your comments! :)

