Cheap and Easy Halloween Costumes

5 Oct

It seems like I start every post with an apology recently, but I feel so guilty and neglectful whenever I fail to update my blog in a timely manner. School really is kicking my butt this semester. But all of a sudden I looked around and realized it was October. And that means Halloween! And costumes, and candy!! So the great debate, of course, is what am I going to be….. I’m not trying to spend a gazillion dollars this month, so here are some ideas I’m considering from shopping my own closet:

halloween 1

All you need to be a fabulous kitten is a pair of black leggings, black top, black ballet flats, and some ears! I think black fingerless gloves would give this idea some extra meow!

halloween 2

I’m thinking a pretty turquoise t-shirt dress from american apparel and some strategically crafted peacock feathers would make for one cute bird.

halloween 3

Just add red lipstick and a black tank top, lace skirt, pearls, fishnets, and feathers are all you need to dance away the night at a speakeasy. Jazz and bootleggers optional.

What other costumes are easy to create with existing pieces? What are you going to be for Halloween? I’m always on the lookout for more ideas!

Bisous,

Rachel

4 Responses to “Cheap and Easy Halloween Costumes”

  1. soanthro October 6, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    LOVE the peacock one! What a cute idea I may have to act on!!

  2. Jen October 20, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    These are great costume ideas! I hate buying the super expensive ones from party stores but always end up doing it because I’m never creative enough to come up with my own ideas!

  3. Julie October 20, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Awesome, Rachel..thanks!

  4. Japeth August 17, 2012 at 5:16 am #

    I’m thinking of what my friends will be wearing this Halloween. Perhaps, I can suggest that they purchase cheap Halloween costumes and then try to add a few accessories to make it more unique.

I love reading your comments! :)

