Making Your Own Sushi

21 Nov

A few nights ago one of my roommates and I attended a make-your-own sushi party. I absolutely love seafood (and the more raw, the better) so this was a really fun experience…. even if I don’t think I have a successful career as a sushi chef ahead of me. I’m definitely going to be looking for a local market in my area where I will be able to buy sushi-grade fish to attempt making a few things on my own! Here’s how it went down:

Step 1: Lay seawood shiny side up on your rolling bamboo. Wet hands and then mash a thin layer of rice all around.

Lay out all your ingredients. I put cucumber, avocado, and crab in mine :)

Roll, slice, and you're done!

I had such a fun time doing this with my friends, I can’t wait to try it again sometime. I’m quite the seafood and sushi addict… have you ever tried to make your own rolls? What’s your favorite kind of sushi? I’m rather partial to tootsie rolls and crunchy spicy tuna… mmm yummo!

Bisous,

Rachel

4 Responses to “Making Your Own Sushi”

  1. Natalie November 21, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Mmm homemade sushi is the BEST! And you look adorable, love your scarf.

  2. molly November 22, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    yum!!! i would love to learn how to make sushi!

    http://missmollyfashions.blogspot.com/

  3. Carrie November 23, 2011 at 4:26 am #

    spicy tuna is my favorite, too! i just ate 6 pieces tonight, in fact. mmmmm

  4. FABRIZIA SPINELLI November 23, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    I really enjoyed this post! I love your sense of style!

    Fox House giveaway on my blog!
    Take a look and if you like follow me, I’ll be waiting for you: Cosa mi metto???

I love reading your comments! :)

