Black Friday Haul

26 Nov

Boy did I do a number this year. I got some awesome deals and I can’t wait to tell you about them. I started my Black Friday technically on Thanksgiving Thursday, when 2 of my best girl friends and I headed to the outlet mall in Round Rock (the enormous one in San Marcos gets a little too cray cray for us) at 10pm for some deals. Here’s what I scored: (P.S. click the photos to purchase!)

First stop, Ralph Lauren. Ended up getting a blue and white striped classic oxford. Regular price $89.50, on sale at the outlet for $54.50, black friday price down to $38.50. Second place I lucked out was Eddie Bauer. I’ve never really bought anything from there before, but I was in the market for a puffer vest and the ones in the window caught my eye. I was really impressed by the quality and customer service at the store, and walked out with a hunter green 100% goose down puffer vest with beautiful brown toggle closures that’s good to 20°F, so I think that’ll take care of me (ha.) The original price was $129.99, the outlet price was $89.99, and my final cost with special sales was $48.

Then we get to American Apparel. A few weeks ago, I bought the $50 for $100 Groupon that went out knowing that I needed to stock up on a few basics, specifically the “winter leggings” that will keep your legs cozy in the arctic and which seem to have become my daily staple when the Doppler dips below 70°. (Hey, I’m southern born and bred, what can I say.) Not only was I going to maximize my groupon savings by getting AA outlet prices on the leggings, but it turns out that they surprisingly had buy one, get one half off everything in the store. The total regular retail value of the 3 pairs of leggings and one long sleeved tunic-y shirt I purchased was $140. What did I pay? Exactly my groupon to the dime, so, $50. Can you say steal?

Fast forward about 2 hours and J. Crew finally opens, where I snagged a light wash denim button down half off, from $62.50 to $31.25 after sales and my student discount. Next up the outlet mall was starting to get ugly hectic so we maneuvered our way out of the parking lot (nearly witnessing an accident and possibly a marriage end on the way) and booked it to Target. I bought a door-buster flannel button-down for $10 and a camera tripod for $24. It wasn’t on sale… but, it’s what I wanted. So expect to see a bunch of outfit posts and vlogs in the future… speaking of, I have an extra special surprise to announce in a few weeks related to vlogging so get excited!

 

So just in case you haven’t been keeping up with the math, here’s a summary of the specifics. Total retail value of all goods purchased: $461.99 Total amount paid: $191.75 Savings: 59.5%…. NOT TOO SHABBY! (Note: calculations done without tax for simplification purposes.) So basically, by being willing to fight the crowds in the cold for 4 hours (okay it was in the 50s it was manageable I’m just a baby) I saved almost 60% of my money to do something more important with. (AKA, buy presents for my sorority sisters- but more on that later :)

Well I think that’s about it for now… are you a black Friday shopper? What about Cyber Monday? What deals did you find??

Bisous,

Rachel

bloglovin

2 Responses to “Black Friday Haul”

  1. Carrie November 28, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    Holy crap you hit the big one!! I picked up one little pair of boots at J.Crew along with a pair of leggings. Too many choices make my head swim. i should be hanging out with you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shop Local Saturday Haul! « - November 28, 2011

    […] other day I told you about my Black Friday Haul. Though I love the deals and everything I purchased, it’s important to remember that where […]

I love reading your comments! :)

