Shop Local Saturday Haul!

28 Nov

The other day I told you about my Black Friday Haul. Though I love the deals and everything I purchased, it’s important to remember that where you choose to spend your money matters. Aside from large national chains, you can choose to purchase your gifts locally, to support the economy and help people in your own areas hang on to their jobs and livelihoods. For this reason, a grass roots initiative called Shop Local Saturday has sprung up to counter the mall madness of Black Friday and the multi-national corporation aspect of Cyber Monday.  To do our part in supporting local artists and “jump-starting the economy” (as my dad says,) my mom and I, along with bestie Cass and her mama, headed to the first annual Renegade Craft Fair in Austin to celebrate shop local Saturday. There were some really neat crafts and beautiful gifts. Here were some of my favorite finds and new discoveries!

I'm mildly obsessed with feathers, especially of the peacock variety. Bonus: These are 100% cruelty free! $24

Heart felt by Aviva features the cutest head-wear I think I’ve ever seen! Browse the handmade headbands, fascinators, and clips, and you’re sure to find something delightful. I especially loved the feather headbands, but there were also some gorgeous ones with sequins that I think would be perfect for NYE!

This print has a darling Coco Chanel quote and eye catching design! 11" x 17", $20

I love the colors and the quote is wonderful! 8" x 10", $14

Little Things Studio has possibly the most adorable art prints I’ve ever seen in my entire life. She uses the most delectable color palette and selects the most meaningful quotes. Extremely affordable and easy to frame, I think these would make terrific gifts this holiday season without a doubt.

Gorgeous handmade Texas necklaces!

Broken Ear Productions makes gorgeous hand-sawed jewelry. What caught my eye right off the bat was the unique Texas pendant. States seem to be very “in” right now, and I would love a piece like that to remind me of my roots while I’m off at school. Kim’s pieces were being shown at the the Wonder Craft booth, (technically more of a decked-out airstream trailer really,) which served as proxy for a local store that operates as a physical location for a regional craft collective– awesome stuff! I can’t remember how much these necklaces were being sold for (website doesn’t say) but I know they were under $40!

Did you take part in shop local Saturday? What were your best finds? What do you think about this initiative?

Bisous,

Rachel

bloglovin

3 Responses to “Shop Local Saturday Haul!”

  1. molly November 28, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    lovely items!

    http://missmollyfashions.blogspot.com/

  2. Ms B. BAD November 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    I def heard about this initiative, small biz saturday! I didn’t get to go out and shop bc I am still recovering from my Versace for H&M shopping haul. But those are some really cute finds! Love the texas necklace!

  3. laura-maradam November 29, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    I think I will have to go with the stickers on the frames too :P I am not the best crafter hihi
    xxx

I love reading your comments! :)

