NYE Weekend: Eli Young Band and Esther’s Follies!

3 Jan

How a fashion blogger packs for a 36 hour trip: Marc Jacobs, "The Total Pillow," Sweet Leaf Tea, and only about 6 different outfit options.

I had a fabulous NYE weekend and I hope you did too! I started the festivities Friday morning by driving up to Ft.Worth with my best friend (since kindergarten!) Cassie and her boyfriend Zach. We spent the afternoon hanging out and helping Cass organize her apartment, then went to Riscky’s barbeque downtown.

Things I miss when I'm not in the south: sweet tea, and dead animals as acceptable restaurant decor.

After filling up on ribs, we headed to Billy Bob’s famous honky tonk (the largest in Texas) to the sold-out Eli Young Band Concert. I first saw them a few years ago at Austin City Limits Music Festival, and they’ve only gotten better since! I tried to snap a few photos of the band but it was pretty dark and they didn’t come out too well unfortunately :( They played the song which first got me addicted to them, “Guinevere,” but I also loved the covers they did of “American Girl” and “Come Together.”

Best friend Cass and I dancing to the tunes

The next morning, we had a delicious brunch at Yogi’s in FW before heading back to Austin to get ready for NYE!

Pancakes, bacon, eggs, chocolate chip waffle :)

After a little r & r in the afternoon, my best girl friends and I (and super trooper bestie’s bf Zach) went out to a nice dinner and then to a hilarious comedy show downtown on 6th Street at Esther’s Follies.

Besties for almost 10 years!

After we counted down the new year downtown, we headed back to my house for a good old fashioned slumber party with baked brie, chocolate fondue, and a few celebratory libations. It was decidedly low-key which was absolutely perfect.

What did you do for new years? Are you an Eli Young Band fan? What are you looking forward to about 2012?

Bisous,

Rachel

bloglovin

One Response to “NYE Weekend: Eli Young Band and Esther’s Follies!”

  1. Chelsea January 3, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    What a fun way to bring in the new year!

    Found you through TxSC, hope to meet ya there! Take care.

I love reading your comments! :)

