The truth about loafers

9 Jan

I have a confession. For the last few months, I’ve been seeing bloggers sport loafers all over the blogosphere. I read the comments; they confirm their lust, affirm their approval of this benign footwear. Well- the buck stops here, I’m just going to come out and say it: I DON’T LIKE YOUR LOAFERS AND I DON’T THINK THEY LOOK CUTE ON YOU! Whew. Glad I got that out of my system.

Tory Burch red penny loafer, originally $250. (I love me some Tory, but it's $250 too much if you ask me.)

Now let me explain. A ballet flat? I’m down with the that. Leopard print, neon, bring it on. But for some reason, I just can’t bring myself to love a loafer. Maybe it’s in the name. I mean, come on people, it rhymes with gopher. Or conjures up an image of a loaf of white bread. There’s just not any element of chic to a loafer. They just seem so… geriatric. Orthopedic at best, really.

J. Crew "Darby" glitter loafers, originally $215. I'm pretty sure I once saw a picture of former French King Louis XIV wearing these exact same shoes when I took AP European History in high school.

I’m truly sorry if anyone is offended by this post, please, leave me a comment and tear me apart. I promise to appreciate your adverse opinion. Anyone else out there agree with me? I mean it’s one thing if you want to wear cheetah print slipper loafers to get your mail. It’s a complete other story if you want to wear them for an extended period of time in public. Or worse, in public with tights.

Dolce Vita Nariko Smoking Leopard Print Calfhair loafers, $165. (ew.)

Please debate but please don’t hate, just one blogger’s humble opinion :)

In other news, happy Monday!

Bisous,

Rachel

bloglovin

3 Responses to “The truth about loafers”

  1. Gloria January 10, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    Haha too funny! I don’t really get the loafer trend either. It’s very Grandmother-ish to me!

  2. The Style Dossier January 10, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Hi Rachel! Haha I love your honesty, I wish I could be that honest sometimes. I still like that loafer look, probably because I’m into that preppy look @ times.

    We can’t wait to meet ya @ TxSC, we’re sooo excited!!

    xx Libby
    http://www.thestyledossier.blogspot.com

  3. Kristin & Megan (@BonBonRoseGirls) January 10, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    I quite like leopard smoking slippers! To each his own right? : )

I love reading your comments! :)

