The Look of the 2012 Golden Globes

17 Jan

As a producing major, I love watching award shows that honor excellence in the cinematic arts. And let’s be real, the fashion isn’t exactly a turn-off either. Here are some of the night’s best hits and {and misses} from the 2012 Emmy Awards!

Love it:

Modern Family's Sofia Vergara in Vera Wang

Charlize Theron in Dior (nominated for Young Adult.) I love the asymmetry and unusual shape!

Claire Danes (nom'ed for Homeland) shows a daring back cut out in J. Mendel.

Like it:

Elle MacPherson in Zac Posen, loving how she pulls off the winter white.

Michelle Williams in Jason Wu. Not sure how I feel about the blue animal print, but the fitted maxi silhouette is perfection.

Modern Family's Julie Bowen in Reem Acra, displaying my favorite combo, "nude + sparkle." A very classic safe choice, but pretty nonetheless.

Leave it:

Zooey Deschanel (nominated for The New Girl) in Prada... but it kind of looks like an unused costume from an alien movie.

Kelly Osborne in Zac Posen... I apprecite the neo-futuristic vibe, but it's a bit too Jetsons for my taste.

Freida Pinto in Prada. This actress has a gorgeous body... why is she covering it up in a blue sack??

Among my favorite wins, aside from the fashion “yesses,” were Michelle Williams for My Week With Marilyn and Midnight in Paris for Best Screenplay. (Interesting fact: The Golden Globes don’t differentiate between original and adapted screenplay like the Academy Awards do, so this category is kind of a free-for-all.) Somewhat disappointed with George Clooney winning for The Descendants (I thought it was good but not great), and Meryl Streep winning for The Iron Lady. Although I really want to see it and I heard it’s great, there were several other phenomenal actresses nominated this year who I think deserved a shot, like Rooney Mara.

Did you watch the Emmy’s? What did you think of the fashion? What were your favorite movies and tv shows of the past year?

Bisous,

Rachel

bloglovin

One Response to “The Look of the 2012 Golden Globes”

  1. thedemoiselle1 January 18, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    I’m kind of obsessed with your header as Ice cream and sherbert (and mochi for that matter) are my favorite things. Cute post as well! Kelly Osbourne certainly looks thin in that dress – hence why she decided to go Jane Jetson I suppose.

I love reading your comments! :)

