TxSC Mentor Brunch / Shopping / OOTD!

14 Mar

For brunch and a day out shopping in icky weather, I wore an F21 Navajo wrap sweater (similar) over a Sugar Lips tank (similar) and American Apparel leggings, with vintage boots :)

On Saturday morning, Cassie, Laura, and I braved the thunderstorms to attend the Texas Style Council Mentor brunch. We munched on delicious egg, avocado, and black bean breakfast tacos from Cantina Laredo, yogurt parfaits from KIND, and coffee and tea from Jo’s Coffee and Honest Tea.

Cassie (an Austinite) peer pressured Laura (originally from Albequerque) to try her first breakfast taco!

I learned so much from the people I had the opportunity to speak with! I discussed the challenges of being a college blogger with Diya of In Her Stilettos, a new way to monetize and advertise with Ryan from iSocket, how to work with brands from Turi who works for Modcloth, pitching 101 from Jessica who works for Refinery 29, and a little bit about the print magazine/online editorial world from Caroline Waxler, who works for Lucky Magazine.

After brunch we spent the afternoon shopping around the 2nd Street District and South Congress. I picked up a gorgeous teal dress from Langford Market (where I also filled up on sinfully scrumptious cupcakes from Delish Bakery) and also scored two new Voluspa candles from Luxe Apothetique, and a birthday present for one of my best friends from Maya*. I also might have stopped for a little guacamole snack at Gueros— what can I say, I couldn’t resist!

Tasty miniature cupcakes from Delish Bakery at Langford Market.

Tune in later this week for posts on Saturday night’s sponsor party and a full rundown of Sunday’s awesome blogging panel discussions!

Bisous,

Rachel

bloglovin

One Response to “TxSC Mentor Brunch / Shopping / OOTD!”

  1. kristin March 16, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Wish I could have been there! Love your sweater!

I love reading your comments! :)

