Hollywood adventures so far.

29 Jun

Confession: I wore a cute outfit to work today but when I went outside on my balcony to take pictures, I was intimidated by the people next door and their children out on their balcony… So I scampered away and hid inside. Like I said, working up the courage to take pictures of yourself is, in my opinion, the biggest bloggers’ dilemma there is. So to make up for it I thought I’d take a break from our regularly scheduled outfit posting to tell you a little bit about some of the exploring I’ve been doing around L.A., such as restaurants and the like. Here are some of my favorite things so far:

Yoga West L.A. – A close friend of mine is very into Kundalini yoga, so I thought I’d give it a try. I determined I’m more of a vinyasa person for sure, but the 90 minute session which focused on breathing and inner meditation was very relaxing, and overall a much needed break from the real world.

Fish Grill – This all pescatarian (and glatt kosher) restaurant has several locations around L.A. and features all vegetarian and fish dishes. I got the fish tacos, which were amazing, and my friend got an ahi tuna steak, which was equally delicious! Also very affordable :)

The White Arrows – Through a friend of a friend, I ended up going to an album release party for these guys at The Troubador. They were great live performers, and their indie rock vibe is fun to dance to and refreshing. If you’re a fan of MGMT and Passion Pit, you’ll love them!

Rock of Ages – My grandlittle and I went on a sushi date to Shibuya in Calabasas and then to see Rock of Ages. It was a bit cheesy, but super fun and I’m a HUGE classic rock junkie so I loved every second of it. My only complaint was that I couldn’t get up and dance in the theater :)

Corner Bakery – Apparently they’re everywhere in California, but I’d never ever seen or been to one before last weekend and they have the best brunch! There are a ton of yummy and health-conscious options under $5. And over 100 things under 600 calories! (P.S. I just saw on the website they opened one of these 2 minutes away from my house in Austin in the Arboretum!!!!!! I won’t be home until November but I’m already beyond excited.)

Century City Farmer’s Market – Every Thursday by my office there’s a huge farmer’s market with everything you could imagine. I’ve been using the weekly opportunity to stock up on homemade hummus, pita, and tabouleh, as well as Rainier cherries and strawberries. The food stands there are also divine, and if you stop by you positively must get the Hawaiian chicken and rice that’s the hallmark food stall of the market!

Hiking in Solstice Canyon – Malibu. Waterfalls. Hiking Trails. Need I say more?

I can’t believe I’m only in L.A. for 7 more weeks. What else are must-do’s before I head back to Tucson? What are your favorite local discoveries here??

Bisous,

Rachel

bloglovin

One Response to “Hollywood adventures so far.”

  1. little white whale June 29, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    Solstice Canyon sounds amazing! I’ll have to save this list for the next time I’m out in LA :-)

I love reading your comments! :)

